This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Antwerp (Municipality, Province of Antwerp, Belgium)


Last modified: 2003-01-18 by ivan sache
Keywords: antwerp | antwerpen | berchem |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Antwerp]by Ivan Sache

See also:

Presentation of the city

Antwerp is the capital city of the arrondissement of Antwerp and the province of Antwerp.

On 1 January 1983, the municipality of Antwerp incorporated the following formermunicipalities:

  • Berchem
  • Borgerhout
  • Deurne
  • Ekeren
  • Hoboken
  • Merksem
  • Wilrijk

Their flags are displayed on the Antwerp Town Hall, together with a great many others, mainly from seafaring nations.

Jan Mertens, 23 October 2002

Description of the municipal flag

The flag is made of three horizontal stripes red-white-red (1:3:1).

Source: Van evers en heiligen. Wapens en vlaggen van de gemeenten in de provincie Antwerpen [pbd98]

Jarig Bakker, 22 September 2001

Flag of the former municipality of Berchem

[Flag of Berchem]by Jarig Bakker

The municipal flag of Berchem was derived from the municipal arms:

Argent three pallets Gules,

formerly belonging to the local lords. This coat of arms could be a variant of the Berthout arms:

Or three pallets Gules,

the Berthout being a powerful family in the medieval Duchy of Brabant. The van Berchems were probably related to them. A quick look at municipal flags in the Province of Antwerp will reveal how much land the Berthout and their various branches once possessed.

The Berchem flag was adopted by the Municipal Council on 24 February 1981 and approved by Royal Decree on 26 February 1982. The Flemish decree promulgating various municipal coats of arms and flags, including the Berchem flag, appeared on 4 January 1995, i.e. twelve years after its demise!

Jan Mertens, 23 October 2002