Last modified: 2002-10-19 by ivan sache
Keywords: maldegem | cross (red) | ducks: 9 (red) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors
by Filip van Laenen
Maldegem (460 inhabitants) is located in the arrondissement of Eeklo.
The flag is: Or, a cross Gules, in each of the corners accompanied
by three ducks Gules, placed at the borders of the flag. Proportions
The flag is derived from the municipal coat of arms, described as follows:
"The arms were granted on September 27, 1909. The arms are derived from the old arms of the Lords of Maldegem. The first known arms of a Lord of Maldegem date from 1307. Philips, Lord of Maldegem, used a seal with a knight holding a shield with a cross and 12 merles. In the Gelre Roll of Arms from the early 14th century the arms of the Lords of Maldegem are shown as gold, with a red cross and 12 red merles."
For some obscure reason the merles (Dutch: merlettes) have become ducks, with beaks.
The flag was adopted on 5 October 1988.
Source: Flags of the Low Countries
Jarig Bakker, 19 October 2001