This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Liège (Municipality, Province of Liège, Belgium)


Last modified: 2002-10-19 by ivan sache
Keywords: liege | luik |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Liege]by Ivan Sache

See also:

Description of the flag

Liège (188,000 inhabitants) is the capital city of the Province of Liège.

The flag is vertically divided red-yellow. It is still unofficial.

The colours of the flag are derived from the municipal coat of arms, described as follows:

"The present arms were officially granted on February 1st, 1947, and may be surrounded by several chains of military decorations. The arms of Licge show a monument or 'perron'. The perron is most likely derived form an actual monument in the city. It is first seen on a coin of Hendrik II of Limburg, as Prince-Bishop of Liège, dating between 1145 and 1165. The perron was shown freely on coins until the mid 14th century, when the symbol was placed in a shield. Whether the city at the time already used it as city arms is not known. Ever since the perron, including the base with the three lions, has been the arms of the city. The actual shape, however has varied widely during the centuries, and similarly, not all images show the lions. In the late 17th century the whole name, LIEGE was shown around the perron. The letters L and G appear for the first time in the late 18th century."

Jarig Bakker, 17 November 2001

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy