This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website
Last modified: 1999-06-04 by pascal gross
Keywords: switzerland | basel |
Links: FOTW homepage |
disclaimer and copyright |
write us |
by António Martins
Description of the flag
Basel Stadt: Argent, a bishop's crozier sable.
On a white field, a black bishop's crozier, with the crook turned
toward the hoist.
Basel Land: Argent, a bishop's rozier with seven bosses at the
crutch turned to sinister gules.
On a white field, a red bishop's crozier (Baslerstab, or "Basel
staff") turned toward the fly and adorned with seven bosses on the
The croziers on both flags are highly stylised (thickened and
shortened beyond recognition), and their peculiar heraldic shape was
well established by 1249. The three-pronged foot represents a very
real spike on pastoral staffs which permitted planting them in the
When the emblems of Basel Stadt and Basel Land are shown together on
one flag, the croziers are impaled (i.e. side by side), and they must
be separated by a black palar line. The crooks are turned away from
each other, with Basel Stadt in the hoist and Basel Land in the fly.
Symbolism of the flag
The bishop's crozier has three well accepted meanings since early
Christianity: it is a support or guide (the shepherd's crook that
saves straying sheep), an emblem of authority and ministration, and a
instrument of punishment and correction. The seven bosses or
roundels on the crozier of Basel Land are actually a Gothic
architectural device, and represent the seven districts of that
History of the flag
While Unterwald and Appenzell were split in half-cantons from the
start, Basel was originally united. The countryside of the canton
separated from the original city-state only in the 19th century.
The Bishopric of Basel, founded in 346 AD by Justitian, was the
oldest and most important bishopric of the upper Rhine. The
city state became sovereign within the Holy Roman Empire in 1356 when
the city bought its civic rights from the bishop. The crozier was
originally red, but probably changed to black in 1356. Basel joined
the Swiss confederation in 1501.
In 1832, liberal Basel Land seceded from the conservative city after
a brief civil war which had been an overflow of the 1830 revolution
in France. The new half-canton was officially admitted to the Swiss
confederation in 1833. The new flag appeared the following year.
The red crozier both symbolises rejection of Basel Stadt and is
borrowed from the arms of Liestal which became the canton's capital.
Liestal's arms since 1305 had been a red Baslerstab within a red
border. The new canton omitted the red border, and very unorthodoxly
turned the crozier backwards (towards the fly), demonstrating their
contempt for Basel Stadt by symbolically turning their backs on them.
Basel Land is the only canton to have a charge "contourne'". The
canton's council confirmed this unusual design in 1947, and a
plebisicite in 1969 rejected reunification of the two half-cantons.
Basel Land upon creation was the 25th or penultimate canton
(counting half-cantons), while Basel Stadt kept its rank as the
T.F. Mills, 22 October 1997