Last modified: 2003-08-09 by santiago dotor
Keywords: landkreis freising | freising county | coat of arms (bavaria) | coat of arms (chief: lozengy) | coat of arms: per pale (moor's head) | coat of arms: per pale (rose) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors
by Stefan Schwoon
Flag adopted 14th August 1979, coat-of-arms adopted 21st August 1955
White-red-yellow, vertically hanging variety, also described on the county website. Since the colours are identical to the neighbouring Erding County, the flag must be used with the arms. Arms from Stadler 1964-1971.
Stefan Schwoon, 10 February 2001
Freising county had no flag before the 1972 municipal reform.
Stefan Schwoon, 9 July 2001
Adopted 14.08.1979, according to Dirk Schönberger's Administrative Divisions of the World website. From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:
The arms were granted on August 21, 1955 and confirmed on July 15, 1976.
- The upper part of the arms show part of the arms of Bavaria (Bayern), and stand for the former areas of Kranzberg and Moosburg in the district.
- The moor's head is a false representation of St. Corbinianus, the patron saint of the diocese of Freising. St. Corbinianus was bishop of Munich in the 7th century. The picture is derived from pre-heraldic coins and it is unlikely that the bishop was a Moor. The State of Freising (it was a free state ruled by the bishops) became part of Bavaria in 1803. The moor's head is also used by some other municipalities, not only in Germany (Garmisch Partenkirchen, Mittenwald and Ismaning), but also in Italy (Innichen/San Candido). The city of Freising does not use the head, but a boar, which plays a role in the legend of St. Corbinianus.
- The rose is taken from the arms of the Counts of Moosburg, who used three roses.
Literature: Stadler 1964-1971.
Santiago Dotor, 15 November 2001