This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

East Frisia (Lower Saxony, Germany)


Last modified: 2003-02-08 by santiago dotor
Keywords: lower saxony | niedersachsen | east frisia | frisia | ostfriesland | friesland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[East Frisia (Lower Saxony, Germany)] 3:5
by Rob Raeside

See also:

Other sites:


Black over red over blue. East Frisia is now a part of Lower Saxony, but at one time it was an independent state, until 1744. Later it became part of Prussia, then Hannover, then Prussia again. At times it was ruled by France or the Netherlands.

Carl-Heinz Dirks, 12 December 1997

In the Flags of Aspirant Peoples chart appears "74. East Frisians (Saterland) - Western Germany". Identical to de-efrij.gif in FOTW [image above].

Ivan Sache, 14 September 1999

East Frisian Islands

The flags of the East Frisian islands are described in van Heijnigen 1998, available online at the Der Flaggenkurier website. There are seven East Frisian islands, from west to east: Borkum, Juist, Norderney, Baltrum, Langeoog, Spiekeroog, Wangerooge. They are all inhabited and form municipalities on their own. Both Borkum and Norderney have the rank of a city (Stadt) whereas the other islands are municipalities (Gemeinden). Borkum belongs to Leer County, Juist, Norderney and Baltrum to Aurich County, Langeoog and Spiekeroog to Wittmund County, and Wangerooge to Friesland County.

Stefan Schwoon, 27 March 2001