This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Municipal flags (Finland)

Last modified: 2003-01-11 by elias granqvist
Keywords: finland | municipalities: finland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Related sites:

About Finnish municipal flags

My impression is that all the coats-of-arms, with the possible exception of that of Finland itself, as well as that of Åland Islands, are also valid as banners-of-arms; the official flags of those two places are the well-known Scandinavian crosses.

Lewis A. Nowitz, 27 December 2000

Most communities use banners-of-arms but flags' proportions vary: my current home town Oulu uses square banner-of-arms, but my birth town Kokkola uses something like 11:18. And some use "pennants-of-arms" or swallow-tailed flags or...

Ossi Raivio, 27 December 2000

Editor's note: According to Finnish heraldists, the heraldry of the newer regions (maakunta/landskap) shall be treated along the lines of municipal heraldry (because they are legally municipal entities), so I will make pages for them linked from the page for Finnish municipal flags rather than the page for
Finnish provincial flags.


Regions (maakunta, landskap)

  • Central Finland (Keski-Suomi, Mellersta Finland)
  • Central Ostrobothnia (Keski-Pohjanmaa, Mellersta Österbotten)
  • Eastern Uusimaa (Itä-Uusimaa, Östra Nyland)
  • Finland Proper (Varsinais-Suomi, Egentliga Finland)
  • Kainuu (Kainuu, Kajanaland)
  • Kymenlaakso (Kymenlaakso, Kymmenedalen)
  • Lapland (Lappi, Lapland)
  • Northern Karelia (Pohjois-Karjala, Norra Karelen)
  • Northern Ostrobothnia (Pohjois-Pohjanmaa, Norra Österbotten)
  • Northern Savonia (Pohjois-Savo, Norra Savolax)
  • Ostrobothnia (Pohjanmaa, Österbotten)
  • Pirkanmaa (Pirkanmaa, Birkaland)
  • Päijänne Tavastia (Päijät-Häme, Päijänne Tavastland)
  • Satakunta (Satakunta, Satakunda)
  • Southern Karelia (Etelä-Karjala, Södra Karelen)
  • Southern Ostrobothnia (Etelä-Pohjanmaa, Södra Österbotten)
  • Southern Savonia (Etelä-Savo, Södra Savolax)
  • Tavastia Proper (Kanta-Häme, Egentliga Tavastland)
  • Uusimaa (Uusimaa, Nyland)