This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Alpes-Maritimes (Department, France): Yacht clubs

Last modified: 2003-07-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: alpes-maritimes | yacht club | antibes-juan-les-pins | cannes | nice | star (blue) | star: fimbriated red (white) | stars: 2 (red) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Club Nautique d'Antibes-Juan-les-Pins

[CN Antibes]by Ivan Sache

The Club Nautique d'Antibes-Juan-les-Pins was founded on 1 July 1927.

The CNA quays and clubhouse are located in the Port Vauban, built in 1970 and named after Marshall Vauban. Vauban (1633-1707) was appointed General Commissioner for the Fortifications by Louis XIV in 1678. He built several fortifications on the French land borders and on the coasts, and modernized several ancient fortification systems. In Antibes, then a border city of strategic importance, Vauban increased the Fort-Carré (Square Fort) and added ramparts to protect the old city from attack via the sea. The Fort-Carré has a four-pointed star shape. It was popularized by the painter Nicolas de Staël (1914-1955), who committed suicide by jumping above the ramparts of Antibes.

The burgee of the CNA is a triangular blue flag with a white cross fimbriated red. A white star fimbriated red is placed in the canton.

The by-laws of the CNA, adopted on 15 March 2001, include an article related to the burgee:

Article 5.15
All CNA members' boats moored at the club quays must show the emblem of the CNA (burgee or sticker) in a visible manner.

Source: CNA website

Ivan Sache, 17 March 2003

Club Nautique de Nice

[CN Nice]by Ivan Sache

The Club Nautique de Nice was founded in 1883 and, according to its website, claimesto be the oldest yacht club on the Côte d'Azur (the French Riviera).However, the Yacht Club de Cannes was founded in 1860.

The burgee of the CNC is a blue triangular flag with two red stars fimbriated white.

Ivan Sache, 19 March 2002

Yacht Club de Cannes

[YC Cannes]by José Carlos Alegria

The Yacht Club de Cannes was founded in 1860 as the Société des Régates de Cannes with Léopold Bucquet as the first president, making the YCC one of the oldest yacht clubs in France. The current name of the YCC was adopted under Edward Bret's presidency.
The YCC has now 600 members and is presided by Jacques Flori.

The burgee of the YCC is triangular, with two blue triangles placed along the hoist, a white triangle charged with a blue star and a red triangle making the point of the burgee.

Source: YCC website

Ivan Sache, 17 March 2003