This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Greenland - Subdivisions (Denmark)

Last modified: 2003-08-16 by dov gutterman
Keywords: greenland | denmark |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Subdivisions Represented in FOTW:

See also:


There are 18 municipalities in Greenland, fifteen in West Greenland, two in East Greenland and one in North Greenland. The municipalities are united in a national association, Kanukoka,  which attends to common interests of the municipalities against the Home Rule, the state and organisations, etc. The municipalities' main responsibilities are tasks within the social sector, culture, education, sport, local environmental projects and the responsibility for running and administration of the villages. There are municipal elections every four years.
Fabio Facoetti, 24 July 2003

However, when I was in Greenland (1993) I haven't seen any municipal flags, neither in Ilulissat, Sisimiut, Qeqertarsuaq nor in Kangerlussuaq (airport). I only saw the Greenland flag, and I'm aware only of the municipal coats-of-arms. As far as I know, those are not flags but blazons.
Marcus Schmöger, 24 July 2003

In my opinion a Greenland municipality is more likely to fly a Danish flag than a municipal flag. Sure, if they were to create a flag of their own, they probably would use their arms. However, they would also be more likely to write "Yorinor kommune" below it than to choose the form chosen here. In short, I'd say there is no reason to assume that such flags exist, and there are several reasons to assume they don't.
Peter Hans van den Muijzenberg, 10 August 2003