This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Retalhuleu Department (Guatemala)

Last modified: 2000-09-01 by dov gutterman
Keywords: guatemala | retalhuleu | palm | star | palm |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

by Jaume Olle'

See Also:


Communication of the departmental governor Mr Carlos E. Quinones on 22 April 1997.

The green stands for the luxuriant vegetation, and the white for the foam of the waves that bathe the department’s shore. The coat of arms contains the palm, departmental symbol; 9 stars representing the municipalities (Champerico, San Sebastián, Santa Cruz Mulua, San Martín Zapotitlan, San Felipe, El Asintal, Nuevo San Carlos, San Andrés Villa Seca and Retalhuleu, this last, the capital, beeing represented by a larger star); in the third quarter is shown the flag of Guatemala in diagonal to indicate allegiance to this country; and in the fourth field the five volcanoes illuminated by a brilliant sun symbolize the Central American unity.
Jaume Olle' and Fred Drew from Flag Report

Coat of Arms

by Jaume Olle'

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy