This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Szabolcs - Szatmar - Bereg County (Hungary)

Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg Megye

Last modified: 2002-05-31 by dov gutterman
Keywords: hungary | szabolcs | sathmar | bereg | szatmar |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

by Zoltan Horvath, 25 Febuary 2001

See also:

City (not part of the county):


  • Baktalórántháza
  • Csenger
  • Demecser (since 2001)
  • Dombrád (since 2000)
  • Fehérgyarmat
  • Ibrány
  • Kisvárda
  • Máriapócs
  • Mátészalka
  • Nagyecsed
  • Nagyhalász
  • Nagykálló
  • Nyírbátor
  • Polgár
  • Rakamaz (since 2000)
  • Tiszalök
  • Tiszavasvári
  • Újfehértó
  • Vásárosnamény
  • Záhony  (CoA at )
  • Other Municipalities:

    Other sites:


    Szabolcs-Szatmar-Bereg county - I have no accurate info about its proportions, it must be 1:2 or similar. It was adopted on 25 June, 1999 by county regulation No. 12/1999. It has a plain white field with red and blue wolfteeth. CoA of county is placed on middle of the flag. There is also a hanging version of the flag, CoA placed on one-third of the flag, which proportion is about 11:27 (unusual). Information provided by a county official.
    Zoltan Horvath, 25 Febuary 2001

    Is the regulation No.12/1999 new, or is this regulation modified an old one?
    Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg County is located on the territories of five formerly counties of the Kingdom of Hungary before 1920. These are:
    Szabolcs County -
    Szatmár County (smaller part) -
    Bereg County (smaller part) -
    Ung County (only Záhony Town) -
    Ugocsa County (only Kispalád village) -
    The Coat of Arms of Szabolcs-Szatmár-Bereg County contains of the CoA-s of Szabolcs, Szatmár and Bereg counties.
    In 1921 Szabolcs county was united with Záhony village as Szabolcs and Ung Temporarly Admin. United County. In 1921 parts of Szatmár, Bereg and Ugocsa counties were united as Szatmár, Bereg and Ugocsa TAUC. After the decisions of Vienna (1938-1940)the five counties were reconstructed. Szabolcs-Szatmár County was born in 1950, when drastically redraw the county borders. Szabolcs County and Szatmár-Bereg County were united to Szabolcs-Szatmár County. The county was renamed in 1990 to Szabolcs - Szatmár - Bereg County. Official site (only in Hungarian) with the CoA
    István Molnár, 26 Febuary 2001

    Flag in Use

    by István Molnár, 27 August 2001

    Flying flag at the Conquest Statue, Opusztaszer NHP. Ratio: 3:1. The width of the CoA is the 1/3 of the width of the flag. The CoAs is on the 1/3 of the flag's height.
    István Molnár, 27 August 2001

    CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
    DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy