This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Kuziai (Siauliai, Lithuania)

Last modified: 2003-07-05 by dov gutterman
Keywords: lithuania | siauliai | kuziai |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

by Audrius Slapsinskas, 24 June 2003

See also:


The flag and coat of arms of Kuziai were drawn according to pictures, which was taken from booklet: DISTRICT OF SIAULIAI AND ITS CONTEMPORARY HERALDRY [lal02].
Here is information from this book:
"Kuziai - The settlement is first mentioned in the 17th century. Archeological findings prove that the settlement was inhabited in the 1st century. The castle on Luponiai mound served as a strategic post defending the land against the attacks of the Teutonic Order.
Kuziai is located 11 km to the north west from Siauliai with the population of 1,500. Its development mainly depended on the foundation of the post office by the highway Siauliai-Telsiai.
In 1873 a wooden church was built in Kuziai. During WWI and II a town was destroyed. After WWII Kuziai was rebuilt and its development started.
Presently it is the town with l,500 inhabitants, 47 villages and 4,200 inhabitants in them.
Local residents call the horse "kuzis" (foal), this name is also associated with the name of the settlement, that is why three silver heads of horses with golden bridles and belts on a red left ribbon on a field of gold is depicted as the coat of arms (design by Laima Ramoniene). The horse symbolises vitality, youth, speed and beauty. The white horse is the symbol of wiseness, joy and victory. The field of gold is chosen as it represents nobility, virtue, wisdom.
The Kuziai coat of arms was confirmed by the President of the Republic of Lithuania on March l, 2001."
Audrius Slapsinskas, 24 June 2003

Coat of Arms

by Audrius Slapsinskas, 24 June 2003