This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Reiderland (The Netherlands)

Groningen province

Last modified: 2003-08-09 by jarig bakker
Keywords: reiderland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Reiderland municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 25 Jun 1991.

Other Reiderland pages: See also:

Reiderland municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 7.070; area: 149,70 km². Settlements: Beerta (seat), Beersterhoogen, Booneschans, Drieborg, Ekamp (part), Finsterwolde, Finsterwolderhamrik, Ganzedijk, Goldhoorn, Hamdijk, Hongerige Wolf, Kostverloren, Kromme-Elleboog, Nieuw-Beerta, Nieuwe Statenzijl, Nieuweschans, Oude Statenzijl, Oudedijk, Oudezijl, Ulsda.
Reiderland is a new municipality, which includes since 1 Jan 1992 the old municipalities of Beerta, Finsterwolde and Nieuweschans. These eastern regions were bulwarks of the Dutch communist party (CPN), especially Finsterwolde. Nieuweschans is the main northern borderpost with Germany.
The notched vertical line on the flag refers to the 'schans' (fort) of Nieuweschans.
Jarig Bakker, 13 November 1999

Reiderland CoA

[Reiderland CoA] from Ralf Hartemink's site.

Granted 17 Jul 1991.