This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Heythuysen (The Netherlands)

Limburg province

Last modified: 2003-07-05 by jarig bakker
Keywords: heythuysen |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Heythuysen municipality Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 25 Feb 1992

See also:

Heythuysen municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 12.126; area: 58,40 km². Settlements: Heythuysen (seat), Baexem, Grathem, Kelpen-Oler.
On 1 Jan 1991 the former municipalities of Baexem, Grathem and Heythuysen merged to form the new municipality of Heythuysen.
The flag, adopted 25 Feb 1992 symbolizes all three former municipalities. The abbott's staff is the symbol of the Princess of Thorn, the Abbess of a monastery, to which Baexem and Grathem belonged. The hunting-horn is the symbol of the County of Horn, to which Heythuysen belonged.

Heythuysen CoA

[Heythuysen CoA] image from the Heythuysen municipal site.

Granted 14 Jul 1992.