This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Tana (Norway)

Tana, Deanu

Last modified: 2002-10-26 by elias granqvist
Keywords: tana | deanu | boats: 3 (yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

by Jan Oskar Engene, 28 April 2002

Granted on 11 May 1984.

See also:

About the flag

Tana/Deanu municipality is situated in Finnmark county. Tana is the name in Norwegian; Deanu is the Saami name (formerly spelt Deatnu).

Heraldically Tana/Deanu is another boat municipality. On 11 May 1984 a Royal resolution proclaimed that the flag of Tana/Deanu was to be "In red three yellow boats." As in the case of many other Norwegian arms containing boats, the blazon does not speak of what kind of boat is thought of. In the model drawings, however, it is clear that the boat type thought of is the slender river boat, no doubt of the type traditionally used to navigate the river that gave the municipality its name. As Tana is a border community, hosting people of both Saami, Finnish and Norwegian descent, three boats were chosen. The colours, red and yellow, are those of the Norwegian national arms, a fact that was, according to [cjo87], important when choosing colours for the arms and flag of Tana. It is not unusual to see municipalities priding themselves in having the "national" armorial colours for their own arms, and this may be even more important for a municipality on the border with other countries.

Jan Oskar Engene, 29 June 2002


Official blazon in Norwegian: "I rødt tre gule båter."

Blazoned in English: Gules three boats or.

English blazon by Elias Granqvist, May 2002

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy