This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Philippines Provincial Flags

Last modified: 2000-09-01 by rob raeside
Keywords: philippines | benguet | romblon | sulu |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


[Benguet, Philippines] by Jaume Ollé, 22 August 1997 and António Martins, 13 June 2000

The flag of Benguet province is well known because it is shown in Smith 1975. I have redrawn the seal which is placed on a white flag (1:2) as the provincial flag of Benguet.

The province was created on 18 June 1966 (Act 4695) after the division of the Mountain province into four. Before that was the Comandancy during Spanish rule. After that Benguet was a subprovince of the Mountain province (after 18 August 1908) - Act 1876.

The symbols in the seal: the Ambuklao and Binga hydro-electric plant; miner's tools; native basket or Kayabong; the forest of Benguet and its terrace-clad mountains. The central circle is a gong or Gansa, and symbolizes the highland culture of the natives. The provincial flower is the everlasting.

Source: the heraldic division of the Philippine presidency. All flags must be approved by the heraldic division before adoption. The book is written by Professor Galo Ocampo, chief of the department, (301 pages, full color) and the seals and flags (around 150 administrative divisions flags) are shown in great detail. The image in W. Smith's book may be a mistake or a variant flag make by the local manufacturers, because all the flags show in the book in ratio 1:2 and in Smith Antique is 3:5
Jaume Ollé, 24 August 1997

I've lived in Benguet for over a year & have never seen the flag. It must be inside the government buildings.
Gene 'Duke' Duque, 25 September 1999


[Romblon, Philippines] by Jaume Ollé, 22 August 1997

The province of Romblon was created by Act 2711 on 10 March 1917. The flag is orange with the seal. In the seal is the white map of the province. The white is for the marble quarries found in the islands of Romblon and for which it was known. The province include several islands (Tablas, Sibuyamm Romblon, Banton, Simara, Carabao, Alad, Logbon, Cobrador and number of scattered islets). The first Christian mission was founded by Recollects in 1635 in Banton Romblon and Cajidiocan. In 1646 it suffered an attack by the Dutch. A fort was built in Romblon in 1650 and another in Banton Island by the Recollects. In 1818 it was united with the province of Capiz and 1853 the "Comandancia político militar de Romblon" was created. In 1898 the region was under the rule of a Spanish army officer with the rank of captain, and in 1899 was under control of the Philippino revolutionary leader General Mariano Riego de Dios, head of the revolution in the Visayas, in the struggle against America. A civil colonial government was established by the Americans on 16 March 1901. In that year it became a regular province, but due to insufficent income, it became a sub-province of Capiz in 1907 until 7 December 1917 when act 2724 restablished the former province. Reorganization on 8 June 1940 resulted in the formation of four municipalities (Tablas, Romblon, Banton and Sibuyan). A Japanese garrison was established in 1942 which was surrendered after the Sibuyan Battle, 25 October 1945. On 1 October 1946 the province was abolished and four special municipalities were created. (act 581), but on 1 January 1947 the provincial status was restored (Republic act nº 38), sponsored by Congressman Modesto Formilleza. A new municipality was created (Santa Fe).

Romblon is more identified with marble than any other province. In the province there are historical and tourist landmarks, such as the ruins of Spanish forts, the beach of Romblon and the waterfalls of San Andres and Odiongan

Source: Symbols of the state - Quezon City 1975.
Jaume Ollé, 22 August 1997


[Romblon, Philippines] by Jaume Ollé, 14 July 2000

The flag of Sulu province, with arms in center where you can see the Christian and Muslim symbols, the Philippine sun, and the Mecca doors.
Jaume Ollé, 14 July 2000

Old flag

I found a description of an old Sulu flag. The flag was white with the black sultan's arms (the Mecca doors) in the center. The flag was dated around 1863 and is supposed to have been adopted under the influence of Prussia. Now I have more information about the flag. Herve Calvarin, in the last issue of Franciae Vexilla, quoted a similar flag (dated c.1780) as white with narrow black border and the arms (the Mecca doors) in it. The white is attributed to the Bourbons. After reading the article, I believe now that the white and black were probably the Sultan's colors (like other sultans in the area) without reference to France or Prussia. The current seal has two Spanish fortresses (according to Flag Bulletin) but Calvarin thought that the fortress is in fact the Mecca doors. The French society of Vexillology is searching for a photo of the Mecca doors and I am also researching the topic.
Jaume Ollé, 20 September 1998
See also:

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy