This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Lezajsk county (Poland)

Podkarpackie vojvodship

Last modified: 2003-04-26 by jarig bakker
Keywords: lezajsk |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

This page is best viewed using Central European fonts AKA ISO-8859-2 See also:

Leżajsk county flag

[Leżajsk county flag] by Jens Pattke, 2 Nov 2001

Here is the flag of Lazajsk County in the voivodship of Podkarpackie. Info from this site: The district of Leżajsk is situated in the south eastern part of podkarpackie province. Leżajsk is one of the oldest towns in south eastern Poland. The beginning of the town was connected with a protoslavonic settlement. Next to this settlement another one was founded on the river San in the area of modern village called Stare Miasto. In 1397 the royal village Leżajsk was granted municipal rights by king Władysław Jagiełło. The tradition of the district of Leżajsk dates back to the XV-th century. Leżajsk became the seat of the starosty in years 1425-1772. It was an independent starosty which is nowadays comprised of the settlements of Leżajsk, Dębno, Giedlarowa, Sarzyna, Wierzawice, Jelna, Kuryłówka, Ożanna, Rzuchów, Siedlanka, Wywłoka, Luchów and Ploin. In years 1855-1867 Leżajsk became, for the second time the seat of a district starosty comprising 33 townships inhabited by 31890 people. It became the seat of a district in 1956-1975. The district comprised two towns (Leżajsk, Nowa Sarzyna) and 48 villages inhabited by 62000 people. On 1st January 2000, thanks to administrative reforms Leżajsk became a district again. At present the district contains the city of Leżajsk, the commune of Leżajsk, the town and commune of Nowa Sarzyna, the commune of Kuryłówka and the commune of Grodzisko Dolne each of which having its own very interesting history
Jens Pattke, 13 Apr 2003

Leżajsk county CoA

[Leżajsk county CoA] image from this website, reported by Jens Pattke, 2 Nov 2001