Last modified: 2003-04-19 by jorge candeias
Keywords: portugal | kingdom of portugal | reino de portugal | escutcheon | bezant | quinas | border of castille | castle |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors
by António Martins
King João II took off the Avis cross and fixed to five the number of circles in the eschutcheons, as well as its saltire arrange and the downwards pointing direction of all of them. The number of castles was also reduced to seven, although later the coat of arms regained a higher,
undetermined number until 1640.
António Martins, 21 May 1997
In 1485-1495 the flag was a (square) armorial banner (of the shield only) with no crown at all. Later, from 1495 on, the flag became an arms-on-white and the crown was visible over the shield.
António Martins, 22 May 1997