Last modified: 2002-11-16 by jarig bakker
Keywords: rudnany |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors
Rudnany lies in a beautiful natural area in northern part of Slovak
rudohorie. It is 15 km far from a district town. Koterbachy territory (Rudnany
nowadays) used to belong to aristocratic family of Mariassys for ages.
It is said the family founded a village Cugerbach (according to copper)
which was mentioned in documents in 1332. Rudnany gradually became a forefront
supplier of raw iron ore. Local mines were nationalized in 1946 and integrated
to n. p. ZB (national factory). Muffling of mining in last years affected
Rudnany, too. Its result is a high unemployment. In 1999 a Mining guild
was found to preserve tradition of mining habits. Since 1992 Rudnany has
its own escutcheon and flag.
Today population of the village is 3,166 people. Local authorities concentrate upon activities for improvement of the environment. Rudnany has 17 local roads and is fully equipped by gas. In last years reconstruction of a council-house, post office, savings bank and health centre has been done. We have also reconstructed former house of flatlets and accommodated 24 almost young families there. Former mining buildings have been rebuilt to 31 flats for Gipsies. Local board for pensioners has been provided and a new cemetery with Burial House and urn wall has been built.
Memorial of mortal work accidents with names of 83 miners is dedicated to victims of mining accidents from 1943 to 1994. Sports centre in Zimna Valley is used for spending leisure time. In front of the council-house there are escutcheons of Rudnany fixed - the one of the village and the other one of Roman Catholic church dedicated to St. Clement, patron of Rudnany miners.
István Molnár, 18 Sep 2000