This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website
Los Angeles County, California (U.S.)
Last modified: 2002-09-28 by rick wyatt
Keywords: los angeles county | california | united states |
Links: FOTW homepage |
disclaimer and copyright |
write us |
by Alan Ferber and Antonio Martins, 23 November 2001
The official flag of the County of Los Angeles is blue, green and gold.
The blue signifies clear skies. the green border is to keep Los Angeles beautiful and the gold lettering "County of Los Angeles" stands for the land of opportunity for everyone since gold was discovered in California.
The seal is the official seal of the County of Los angeles.
Former Supervisor Kenneth Hahn designed the flag. The flag was approved on October 17, 1967 by the Board of Supervisors and flew for the first time in front of the County Courthouse on March 28, 1968.
from the L.A. County website.
by Millard Sheets and Antonio Martins, 23 November 2001
The goddess Pomona -- the goddess of gardens and fruit trees -- is holding
in her arms a sheaf of grain, an orange, a lemon, an avocado and a few grapes
to represent Los Angeles County's agriculture.
She stands of the shore of the Pacific Ocean with the San Gabriel Mountains
in the background.
The engeneering instruments -- the triangle and the ealiper -- relate to
the industrial construction complex of our County and Los Angeles' vital
contribution to the conquest of space.
The spanish galleon is the San Salvador, which Cabrillo sailed into San Pedro Harbour on October 8, 1542.
The tuna represents the fishing industry of Los Angeles County and the
championship cow is for the diary industry. Pearlette is her name.
The Hollywood Bowl indicates the cultural activities, with two stars representing our County's motion picture and television industry.
The cross represents the influence of the church and the missions of
Oil derricks are symbolic of the oil fields which were discovered on
The words "County of Los Angeles California" surround the seal.
The County seal was designed by former Supervisor Kenneth Hahn and adopted by the Board of Supervisors March 1, 1957.
Submitted by Antonio Martins, 23 November 2001