This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Navajo Nation (U.S.)

Last modified: 2002-09-28 by rick wyatt
Keywords: native american | navajo | united states |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of the Navajo Nation] by Thanh-Tâm Tê, 7 January 1999

See also:

Description of the flag

The Navajo Nation Flag, designed by Jay R. DeGroat, from Mariano Lake, New Mexico was officially accepted by the Navajo Tribal Council on May 21, 1968, by Resolution CMY-55-68.

On a tan background the outline of the present reservation is shown in a copper color with the original 1868 treaty reservation in dark brown. At the cardinal points in the tan field are the Four Sacred Mountains, as described for the Great Seal. A rainbow, symbol of Navajo sovereignty, spreads over the reservation and the Sacred Mountains. In the Center of the reservation is a circular symbol depicts the sun above two green stalks of corn between which are three animals representing the Navajo livestock economy, and a traditional hogan and the more modern house. Between the hogan and house is an oil derrick symbolizing the resource potential of the Navajoland, and above this are the wild fauna of the reservation. At the top nearest the sun the modern sawmill symbolizes the progress and industry currently a characteristic of the Navajo Nation.
Dov Gutterman, 23 December 1998

I would like to point out, for those unfamiliar with the USA, that the Navajo flag is a representation of the Navajo Reservation geographically. Their area is around the Four Corners area of the American Southwest. Four states come together in one spot (Colorado, Utah, New Mexico and Arizona). Also shown are counties, on the same map.
Edward Mooney, 6 January 1999

Navajo Nation Seal

The Great Seal of the Navajo Nation, designed by John Claw, Jr., from Many Farms, Arizona, was officially accepted by the Navajo Tribal Council on January 18, 1952, by Resolution CJ-9-52.

The 50 arrowhead points symbolizes the Tribe's protection within the 50 states. The opening at the top of the concentric lines is considered the East; the lines represent a rainbow and the sovereignty of the Navajo Nation. The outside line is blue, the middle yellow, and the inside red. The Yellow Sun shines from the east on the four mountains sacred to the Navajo. These, located at the cardinal points, are in their ceremonial colors: White in the East representing White Shell Woman, Blue in the South representing Turquoise Woman; Yellow to the West representing Abalone Woman; and Black to the North representing Jet Woman. Two green corn plans, symbolic as the sustainer of Navajo life, decorate the bottom of the Seal, with their tips of yellow pollen which is used in many Navajo ceremonies. In the center are a sheep, a horse, which symbolize the traditional Navajo livestock economy. Dov Gutterman, 23 December 1998

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy