This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Orange Free State (Province of South Africa 1910-1994)

Oranje Vrijstaat (Suid Afrika)

Last modified: 2001-04-12 by jarig bakker
Keywords: south africa | orange free state | orange river colony |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Orange Free State - introduction

Orange Free State / Oranje Vrystaat (named after the Orange river, so called after the Dutch reigning house): In east-central South Africa; international border only with Lesotho. Included the tiny bantustan of Qwaqwa on the Lesotho / Natal border point, and the westernmost enclave of KwaZulu. It coincides (100%?) with the new province of Free State.
Antonio Martins, 30 May 1999

No part of the old KwaZulu homeland was in the OFS. KwaZulu was in Natal. In addition to Qwaqwa, there was a portion of Bophuthatswana at Thaba Nchu - about 50km east of Bloemfontein.
Bruce Berry, 31 May 1999

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy