Last modified: 2001-10-13 by jarig bakker
Keywords: zlata koruna |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors
Zlatá Koruna has 613 inhabitants. The first written mention is from
1263. The monastery was built by King Přemysl Otakar II had the monastery
built to protect his interests from the Vítkovci family entering into inner
Bohemia. Several supporters devoted large swaths of land and other property
to the monastery, and in the days of its blossom, its dominion stretched
from České Budějovice all the way to the borders. After the death of Přemysl
Otakar II, the monastery was destroyed by the Kumans even before it could
be completely built. From 1281 to 1291 the abbey was rebuilt with the help
of King Václav II. The monastery burned down in 1354, but was again rebuilt.
During the Hussite Wars it was stormed twice and ransacked. Then a sizable
part of the monastery's property was taken by the Rosenbergs. The abbey
and monastey were dissolved by Emperor Josef II in 1785. The outer parts
of the monastery were made a village in 1785, then a fully independent
township in 1848. Later a military bleaching works, then a silk factory,
a pencil factory, a cardboard press, a drapery works, a machine works,
and finally a foundry all occupied the halls of the monastery. Various
sorts of economic problems brought the end to all industrial activity there
in 1909. Finally, shortly after 1945, most of the renewed areas of the
monastery were once again made accessible to the public.
Information from the Zlatá Koruna homepage.
Jarig Bakker, 11 Oct 2001