This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Bas-Rhin (Department, France)

Last modified: 2002-07-20 by ivan sache
Keywords: bas-rhin | alsace |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

No information is available on the flag of the department.

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 67
Region: Alsace
Traditional province: Alsace
Bordering departments: Moselle, Haut-Rhin, Vosges
Bordering country: Germany (Federal States of Rhineland-Palatinate and Baden-Württemberg)

Area: 4,755 km2
Population (1995): 994,100 inhabitants

Préfecture: Strasbourg
Sous-préfectures: Haguenau, Molsheim, Saverne, Sélestat, Wissembourg
Subdivisions: 7 arrondissements, 44 cantons, 519 communes.

The department is named ("Lower-Rhine") after the river Rhin.
The department is made of Lower-Alsace, to which the cantons of La Petite-Pierre and Sarre-Union, former possessions of the House of Deux-Ponts and Hanau, were added in 1792.

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy