This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Comoros’ historical flags

Last modified: 2003-04-05 by antonio martins
Keywords: crescent: points to fly (white) | crescent: points up (white) | afro-shirazi | socialism | variation | mlic | stars: 4 | stars: square | stars: line | crescent (white) | star: 5 points (white) | crescent: points to bottom |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


The Comoros were conquered by the Arabs in 982 and later, in 1505, visited by the Portuguese. The archipelago was by then divided in several Sultanates. In 1896, Mayotte and the three Protectorates (Moheli, Anjouan and Grand Comore) were incorporated into Madagascar. From 6 July 1897 to 9 April 1908, the four islands constituted the Colony of Mayotte and Dependencies, first administrated directly from Paris, then by a Governor, and finally reincorporated into Madagascar. On 23 February 1914, Mayotte and the three other islands constituted a subdivision of Madagascar. On 4 July 1914, the Comoros were incorprated into Madagascar without any specific status. On 1 January 1947, the Comoros became a Territory, which was transformed on 11 December 1958 in an Overseas Territory (TOM). Autonomy was granted in 1961 and extended by law of 3 January 1968.
Ivan Sache, 20 Apr 2002, based on [clv02]