This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Liberian Administrative Counties

Last modified: 2000-04-28 by antonio martins
Keywords: liberia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Counties: See also:

About liberian counties

Smith 1975 [smi75b] give this note to the presentation of those flags:

These flags were presented to the Liberian counties by President William V. S. Tubman on 29 November 1965, his seventieth birthday.
What happened whith those flags latter on? Were they “bunkered” in some county house safe, or hoisted in county official rooms, or whatever? Were they produced uniquely (only this once), or where there made more of such flags (even mass produced?). Were they used later on, say on stamps, tourist publications etc? And, finnally, what happened with the flags after the end of President Tubman rule? Or, streching the question further on — what happened with the counties? Year 1965 is owfully long ago for administrative subdivisions in turbulent Africa, right?
Zeljko Heimer, 05 Jan 2000

These flags are officially in use but rarely used out of the provincial government hedquarters.
Jaume Ollé, 11 Jan 2000

Some maps of Liberia show only nine divisions, instead of thirteen: Bomi, Grand Kru, Margibi and Rivercess missing.
António Martins, 15 Aug 1999

Derkwillem Visser in Flaggen, Wappen, Hymnen, 1998, [vis98] says that there are 13 counties (provinces) and 6 territories. It seems that the refered 9 counties changed a bit since 1965.
Zeljko Heimer, 08 Jan 2000

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy