This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ferwerderadiel [Friesland, Municipality] (The Netherlands)

Ferwerderadeel [Friesland, Gemeente] (Nederland)

Last modified: 2001-08-16 by franc van diest
Keywords: frisia | friesland | netherlands |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

ferwerderadeel municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

See also:

Municipal flag

Ferwerderadeel/Ferwerderadiel is a municipality in North Friesland. the Netherlands. It is named after its capital, Ferwerd.

The flag was adopted 30 June 1959. Colors and stars are derived from the municipal CoA. The number of villages determined the number of elements in the municipal flag. (v. Sierksma, Nederlands vlaggenboek, 1962)

Jarig Bakker, 22 August 1999

Flag: "Seven stripes blue and yellow, with along the hoist a pale chequered of blue and white of 14 of which the blue bear yellow six-pointed stars." Established 30-6-1959.
The shield is: Blue seven six-pointed stars gold per pale 2 : 3 : 2.
Under Ferwerderadiel nothing is added to this. No capital is mentioned. What is mentioned is that Oude Leye, which partly belonged to Marrum, became an independent village 1-1-1975. "Partly belonged to"? And then I realized
why the name Alde Leije on our pages sounded so familiar. I occasionally cycle through there when doing an 11-cities tour. The village is (or maybe "was") the meeting-point of three municipalities! Ferwerderadeel, Leeuwarderadeel and Het Bildt.

Under Ferwerd it says: Capital place of Ferwerderadeel.

Ferwerderadeel CoA

Ferwerderadiel CoA International Civic Arms :


Hallum CoA

Hallum CoA International Civic Arms :

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy