Last modified: 2001-03-09 by franc van diest
Keywords: limburg | netherlands |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors
Shipmate Flagchart : http://www.shipmate.nl/flags.htm
Beek is known since the 9th century. In the 13th century it became a
possession of the Teutonic Order, mainly used for agricultural purposes. In 1794
it became part of the Netherlands. It is c. 20 km north of Maastricht and the
site of Maastricht airport. North of Beek was the coal-mine Maurits, which was
closed down in the 1950s, since when a huge employment scheme has been carried
out. This airport is part of it.
The flag is canting: Beek means 'rivulet'.
Jarig Bakker, 19 November 1999