This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Venlo [Municipality] (The Netherlands)

Venlo [Gemeente] (Nederland)

Last modified: 2001-03-10 by franc van diest
Keywords: limburg | netherlands |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Venlo municipality Shipmate Flagchart :


See also:

Municipal flag

The new municipality of Venlo is a merger of the former municipalities of Venlo, Tegelen and Belfeld (01-01-2001), the flag is the same as the former municipality of Venlo and is provisional.

Venlo [former municipality]

Venlo [voormalige gemeente]

Venlo former municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

Belfeld [former municipality]

Belfeld [voormalige gemeente]

Belfeld former municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

Belfeld lies between Venlo and Roermond, just north of Beesel. Here is a big complex of locks in the Maas-river.

The flag has a bell, so is canting.

Jarig Bakker, 22 November 1999

The oldest written reference to Belfeld is dated 1326 in a document where one Gerhard Vosken and his wife from Swalmen were forced to build and live there at the Maas river, and to have his processions available for the use of the count of Gelre. In 1906 the municipal council applied for a CoA, but it was refused because it looked to much like the CoA of the province of Gelderland. 21 years later in 1927 they applied again and this time it was approved. The CoA depicted a shield with on it two lions, upheld by the patron saint (Pope Urbanus I). In the middle of the shield was a smaller hart shield on which was the CoA of Ambt Montfort (of which Belfeld was part). The main shield was similar to the shield of Gelre, where Belfeld belonged to since 1277. On the 22 April 1982 the official Belfeld flag was adopted, and was described as a vertical tricolour respectively in blue, yellow and black, and in the canton a white bell. The colours where derived from the CoA.

Source : Gemeente Belfeld Information booklet 2000 - 2001

Franc Van Diest, 25 February 2001.

Tegelen [former municipality]

Tegelen [voormalige gemeente]

Tegelen former municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

The history of Tegelen goes back 2 million years. The deposits of clay and other minerals are the basis of it's existence today. The Romans discovered the brown - yellow gold, and gave Tegelen it's name Tegula (roof tile). For the first period after that it is only known that kilns stood here for the manufacture of bricks, roof tiles and tiles. It is also said that the name had something to do with the word "Tichelen" - which means to manufacture bricks. Till 1817 Tegelen belonged to the "hertogdom Gülick (Prussia)", and was swapped with Germany for Herzogenrath (near Kerkrade). Since August 1991 Tegelen has a new flag, the old one was a horizontal tricolour in the colours red, yellow and black. Although these colours were derived from the municipal CoA it looked to much like the German (or Belgium) national flag, and the council decided to instruct a vexillologist from Utrecht Drs. J.F. van Heijningen to design a new flag. The new flag consists of a yellow and a red field, divided diagonally from the left bottom to the right top. This diagonal dividing line symbolises, according to tradition Saint Martin, it also represents the rise in altitude in our municipality, from 20 M above sea level at the river Maas, till 50 M above sea level at the German border. Pontifically in the middle we see the silhouette of the Gülick Lion, and is also found back in the CoA.

Source : Tegelen Municipality information booklet 2000 - 2001

Franc Van Diest,  24 February 2001  

  • Historical Tegelen flag

Tegelen historical Shipmate Flagchart :


CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy