This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Gauteng (Province of South Africa)

Last modified: 2002-06-14 by jarig bakker
Keywords: gauteng |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Other Gauteng pages: See also


Pretoria - Witwatersrand - Vereeniging region, also known as Southern Transvaal, is now Gauteng (Sotho word for "Place of gold"). Up to September 1995 none of the 9 new South African provinces have adopted their own flags although one or two have proposals in this regard. There is currently a debate in this country as to whether the provinces should have their own flags or not with the ANC holding the view that the provinces should not have individual flags. Gauteng province has, neverthelss, adopted new Arms for the province! Details (and an illustration) are in the latest SAVA Newsletter.
Bruce Berry, September 1995

In northeast South Africa, reorganized from south central Transvaal. Borders Free State, Mpumalanga, Northern Province and Northwest.
Antonio Martins, 30 May 1999

Coat of Arms of Gauteng

[Coat of Arms of Gauteng] image from this site, reported by JJ Andersson, 5 May 2002

ARMS: Azure, a pick erect Or, accompanied on either side by four shield thongs in pale Argent; the shield ensigned of a coronet comprising a wreathed head ring alternately Argent and Or, heightened of four chemical symbols for iron Argent, alternating with as many honey-bees volant Or.
SUPPORTERS: Two lions proper.
SPECIAL COMPARTMENT AND MOTTO: Upon three gold staves fesswise, conjoined 2 and 1, supported by two ornamental brackets Or, the motto UNITY IN DIVERSITY.
Registered with the Bureau of Heraldry on 20 March 1996.
JJ Andersson, 5 May 2002

Local Flagdescriptions

Mokwana Governing Council (Edenvale): granted 22 May 1998
Description: A rectangular flag in the proportion 2:3, comprising 13 equal horizontal stripes, those at the top and bottem red, the remaining eleven alternating white and blue; a hoist panel of three stripes, yellow, blue and yellow, the blue stripe being equivalent in width to three of the horizontal stripes, charged with six white stars in pale of six points each, the yellow stripes each 1,25 of the width of the horizontal stripes.

Vanderbijlpark Town Council: granted 14 Apr 1971.
Description: Per pale Gules, Argent and Vert; on a roundel Argent the shield of the municipal arms.

Parys municipality: granted 18 Apr 1975
Description: A rectangular flag per pale red, white and blue, the middle  stripe  charged  with  the shield of the Municipal arms.

Boksburg Town Council: granted 3 Apr 1984
Description: On a rectangular yellow field proportion three by two, bordered red, a blue griffin segreant  coward, armed and langued red, and in each corner a red tulip.

Randburg Town Council: granted 16 Oct 1987
Description: A rectangular flag with proportion three by two, consisting of nine horizontal stripes, from top to bottom green, yellow, red, yellow, blue, yellow, red, yellow and green, respectively 1/10, 1/25, 1/50,  1/25, 3/5, 1/25, 1/50, 1/25 and 1/10 the height of the flag, the blue stripe charged in the hoist with a  white castle triple-towered and in the fly with four yellow  roundles barwise, the diameter of each 1/5 the  height of the flag.
Source: Data of the Bureau of Heraldry on registered heraldic representations.
Mark Sensen, 19 May 2002

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy