This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nový Jicín okres, Czech Republic

Moravosilesian Region

Last modified: 2003-02-22 by jarig bakker
Keywords: novy jicin | jesenik no | vrchy | rybi | skotnice |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

This page is best viewed with ISO:8859-2, aka Latin2, aka Central European fonts Other cities and municipalities: See also:

Jesenik nad Odrou flag

Jesenik nad Odrou flag by Ivan Sache, 10 May 2000

This town is east of Olomouce in eastern Czechia, on the Oder river. Its flag, adopted 8 Mar 1998, and CoA are here. The village was founded in 1350. By 1945 there were much more people of German nationality living in the village. The only exception was the local settlement, Hůrka, which was Czech. In 1945 the village became the border village. After World War II people from other parts of the country moved there. This village is a part of the territory named Kravařsko (Kuhlanden). The village was in Moravia. To the north of the village there was a historical border between Moravia and Silesia.
Jarig Bakker, 9 May 2000. 

Rybi flag

[Rybi flag] by Blas Delgado Ortiz, 21 Oct 2001, after image by Petr Exner; Flag adopted 27 Mar 2000

Number of inhabitants by 1.1. 2002: 1053. First farm-houses appeared in the cadastre of Rybí from the 12th to 14th century. The village was named Rybí in 1511. The original name was Rybník. Rybí was in possession of the Parish of Štramberk. In 1624 and during the thirty-year war the village was burnt down. Rybí is a birth-place of Zábranský, artist.
Jarig Bakker, 9 May 2000.

Skotnice flag

[Skotnice flag] by Blas Delgado Ortiz, 30 Nov 2001, after image by Petr Exner; Flag adopted 14 Jan 2000

Number of inhabitants by 1.1. 2002: 643. Skotnice is situated 2 km to the west from Príbor on the left-hand bank of the Lubina river. Skotnice is located on both sides of the road from Koprivnice. In the middle of the village the road divides into two roads leading to Studénka and Mošnov. The village was mentioned first as early as in 1330 in a Deed issued by Bishop Jindrich Berka. Based on the Deed he sold the bailiff´s manor of Skotnice to Petr II, who owned the village till 1374. At the beginning the village was in possession of the Episcopal Manor of Hukvaldy. In 1773 there were 15 peasants, 15 smallholders with field, 21 smallholders without field and 1 miller. The population of Skotnice was following: 214 people (1835), 440 people (1880), 398 people (1890), 400 people (1967). In 1900 there were 379 Czechs and 20 Germans living in Skotnice. Area of the cadastre was 395 ha and 29 are. The village derives its name from cattle breeding (cattle = skot). In past, cattle breeding was very popular. Cattle were used for feeding as well as for sales. Until 1938 Skotnice was a part of Moravské Kravarsko. In the middle of June in 1881, construction of a traced private railway line from Štramberk to Studénka was started. The railway passed through the territory of  Skotnice. As a result of the Munich Accord, Skotnice, being a Czech village, along with Štramberk, Koprivnice and Príbor, appeared to be in the Nazi Germany.
Jarig Bakker, 9 May 2000.

Vrchy municipality flag

[Vrchy municipality flag] by Blas Delgado Ortiz, 19 Sep 2001, after image by Petr Exner; flag adopted 29 Mar 1995

Number of inhabitants by 1.1. 2002: 228.
Jarig Bakker, 9 May 2000.