This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Loire (Department, France)

Last modified: 2002-01-18 by ivan sache
Keywords: loire | rhone-alpes |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

No information is available on the flag of the department.

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 42
Region: Rhône-Alpes
Traditional province: Lyonnais
Bordering departments: Allier, Ardèche, Isère, Haute-Loire, Puy-de-Dôme, Rhône, Saône-et-Loire

Area: 4,781 km2
Population (1995): 748,500 inhabitants

Préfecture: Saint-Etienne
Sous-préfectures: Montbrison, Roanne
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 40 cantons, 327 communes.

The department is named after the river Loire (1,020 km).
The department was created in 1793, when the department of Rhône-et-Loire was divided into Rhône and Loire.

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy