This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nièvre (Department, France)

Last modified: 2002-11-02 by ivan sache
Keywords: nievre | bourgogne | general council |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

No information is available on the flag of the department.

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 58
Region: Bourgogne
Traditional provinces: Nivernais, Orléanais, Bourgogne
Bordering departments: Allier, Cher, Côte-d'Or, Loiret, Saône-et-Loire, Yonne

Area: 6,817 km2
Population (1995): 230,400 inhabitants

Préfecture: Nevers
Sous-préfectures: Château-Chinon, Clamecy, Cosne-Cours-sur-Loire
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 32 cantons, 312 communes.

The department is named after the river Nièvre (53 km), tributary of Loire.

Flag of the General Council

[Flag of the General Council]by Ivan Sache

The flag of the General Council (Conseil général) of the department of Nièvre is made of the logo of the General Council placed on a white field. Below the logo is written in black CONSEIL GENERAL DE LA NIEVRE.

The logo is a parallelogram divided black-green by an ascending sinuous white road. I guess black stands for the forests and green for the meadows, which are the most important elements of the landscape in the department.

Ivan Sache, 25 November 2001

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy