This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Pest County (Hungary)

Pest Megye

Last modified: 2002-10-05 by dov gutterman
Keywords: hungary | pest | budapest |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

by Zoltan Horvath, 2 March 2001

See also:


  • Abony
  • Aszód
  • Budakeszi (since 2000)
  • Budaörs
  • Cegléd
  • Dabas
  • Dunaharaszti (since 2000)
  • Dunakeszi
  • Érd
  • Göd
  • Gödöllo
  • Gyál
  • Gyömrő (since 2001)
  • Monor
  • Nagykáta
  • Nagykorös
  • Nagymaros
  • Pécel
  • Pilisvörösvár
  • Pomáz (since 2000)
  • Ráckeve
  • Százhalombatta
  • Szentendre
  • Szigetszentmiklós
  • Szob (since 2000)
  • Tokol (since 2001)
  • Tura (since 2001)
  • Vác
  • Vecsés (since 2001)
  • Veresegyház
  • Visegrád (since 2000)
  • Municipalities:

    Other sites:

    The County Flag

    The flag is bicolour with CoA and above the CoA is the name in gold letters: PEST MEGYE. The colours are: blue and yellow (gold). In a third is the Coat of Arms. There are a horizontal and a vertical version.
    Two picture of desk flags are in the official site of the county: <>.
    István Molnár, 19 October 2000

    Concering Zoltan Horvath image above - the blue is darker as in the CoA.
    István Molnár, 2 March 2001

    Flag in Use

    by Istvan Molnar, 27 August 2001

    Flying flag at the Conquest Statue, Opusztaszer NHP. Ratio: 3:1. The width of the CoA is the 1/3 of the width of the flag. The CoAs is on the 1/3 of the flag's height. The inscription is gold.
    Istvan Molnar, 27 August 2001

    Coat of Arms

    from <>, located by Istvan Molnar, 13 July 2000

    The County

    Pest megye (megye=county) is located on the heart of the contry around Budapest capital. Neighbouring counties are: Koma'rom-Esztergom megye, Feje'r megye, Ba'cs-Kiskun megye, Ja'sz-Nagykun-Szolnok megye, Heves megye, No'gra'd megye, Nitriansky kraj (Slovak Rep.) and Budapest capital. The territory is 6.394 km2. The county (without Budapest Capital) has got 950,000 inhabitants, nearly all of them Hungarian. In the county there are: 27 towns, 36 "large villages" and 121 villages. Ten of the Official EthnicMinorities of Hungary has got ethnic councils in the county. They are: Bulgarian (in 3 settlements), Gipsy (in 45 settlements), Greek (in 1 settlement), Croatian (in 3 settlements), Polish (in 1 settlement), German (in 32 settlements), Armenian (in 2 settlements), Ruthenian (in 1 settlement), Serbian (in 9 settlement) and Slovakian (in 12 settlements).
    The territory of the county is inhabited from the Stone Age were later explored by archeologist. The territory has rich collections of the objects made by Scythians, Celts, Romans, Sarmatians, Huns, Lombards and other German tribes.
    During the reign of King Saint Stephen were formed two counties of Pest and Pilis, later unifieed and destined to become the political, cultural and economical centre of the country. After the Mongol invasion of 1241, Visegra'd, later Buda was became the capital of Hungary. The local government of the county was established in the late 13th c., and it has more or less continuous ever since, apart form certain gaps explained by the vicissitudes of Hungarian history. After 1541 the whole county was occupied by the Turks. 74 out of its 214 prosperoues communities became totally depopulated. The territory was liberated in 1686. The Pest-Pilis County was united with Solt County (part of Feje'r County in the left bank of the Danube). In the 18th century Pest County found itself again, with economy and the number of inhabitants on the increase. It was during this period when ancestors of the minorities living here made the county their home. Free Royal City of Pest, Free Royal City of Buda, Town of O'buda and the Margaret Island were unified in 1872 under the name of Budapest - with Town of O'buda and Margaret Island "torn from their parent, Pest County. In 1876 Pest-Pilis-Solt County was united with the territories of Kiskunsa'g (Little Cumania) and the new county have got the name: Pest-Pilis-Solt e's Kiskun To:rve'nyesen Egyes?lt Va'rmegye (Pest-Pilis-Solt and Kiskun Legally United County).
    The Coat of Arms the Pest-Pilis-Solt-Kiskun County (1876-1950) can be seen at <>.
    After theWWII (1946) the borders of the county was changed drastically. In 1950 the territory of the county had been diveded into two parts. The southern part (Dunavecse district, Kalocsa district, Kisko~ro:s district, Kiskunfe'legyha'za district, Kunszentmiklo's district, Lajosmizse, Lada'nybene and U'jbarcs villages, Town of Kalocsa, Town of Kiskunfe'legyha'za, Town of Kiskunhalas and the City of Kecskeme't) united with Ba'cs-Bodrog County (now Ba'cs-Kiskun County). The northern part got new name: Pest County. Seven towns (Budafok, Csepel, Kispest, Pesterzse'bet, Pestlo~rinc, Ra'kospalota, U'jpest) and 16 villages were united to Budapest.
    Istvan Molnar, 13 July 2000

    CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
    DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy