This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Former Yugoslavia: Republics

Last modified: 2001-11-03 by ivan sache
Keywords: yugoslavia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

List of the Republics in the Former Yugoslavia

The republics in Former Yugoslavia were named "People's Republics" until 1963, and later "Socialist Republics" until 1990-1991.

Use of flags in the Republics

The flags of the Republics were supposed to be used by goverment only, but were in practice used widely (most of the companies and buildings were owned by the state [or society, as it was called], so they had right to display the flags, anyway). There were no versions for use on sea, of course.

It was normal to display three flags together (still you would find three flagpoles in front of most buildings):

  • Yugoslavia in the middle
  • Republic to the left
  • Party to the right (from the viewer).

In the areas with a significant minority population, the flag of the minority was added to this. In some towns the town flag would be added also (again as a rule, with a red star), but it was not so often (I remember Zagreb and Rijeka were doing so, Rijeka was special in displaying five flags in rows on the lightpoles: Yugoslav, Croatian, Party's, Italian and the town flag).

It was not so unusual to see in public places displayed all of the flags of Republics in a circle, and state and Party flags in the middle.

Zeljko Heimer, 1 April 1996

CHANNELS :: Compare Country infoCountry guide & StudyFlagsMapsSightseeingTravel WarningsHotel Directory DESTINATIONS :: AsiaAfricaCaribbean Middle EastNorth AmericaSouth AmericaCentral AmericaOceania PacificEuropePolar Regions UTILITIES :: WeatherWorld TimeISD CodesTravel Links Link Exchange
DestinationsMonuments WONDERS :: AncientModernNatural | Privacy Policy