Built in the last quarter of the 18th Century by Daniel
Gildemeester, at the time Dutch Consul in Portugal, this
palace (now a hotel) was given its present form after the
enlargement works carried out in first years of the 19th
Century when it belonged to Dom Diogo José Vito de Meneses
Noronha Coutinho, 5th Marquis of Marialva. It was this aristocrat
who was responsible for building the east wing and the majestic
triumphal arch (1802), in honour of a visit by Dom João
VI, at the time still Prince Regent, and Dona Carlota Joaquina.
Seteais Palace is a dignified neo-classical building, attributable
to the architect José da Costa e Silva, following the Renaissance
values of neo-Palladianism. The interior, which has been
altered by the various restorations, is notable for a spacious
room decorated with fresco painting of the Pillement School,
with mythological motifs.