You are here > 1Up Travel > Countries of the World > Oceania & Pacific > Pitcairn Islands



 Country Facts









  Maps & Cities

  Transnational issues


  Pitcairn Islands Guide
  Pitcairn Islands Maps
  Pitcairn Islands Flag
  More Pitcairn Islands Flags
  Pitcairn Islands Geography

Travel & Tourism . Tourist Guide to the Country

Pitcairn Islands Government

Pitcairn Islands    Government Top of Page
Country name: conventional long form:  Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie, and Oeno Islands

conventional short form:  Pitcairn Islands
Dependency status: overseas territory of the UK
Government type: NA
Capital: Adamstown
Administrative divisions: none (overseas territory of the UK)
Independence: none (overseas territory of the UK)
National holiday: Birthday of Queen ELIZABETH II, second Saturday in June (1926)
Constitution: 1838; reformed 1904 with additional reforms in 1940; further refined by the Local Government Ordinance of 1964
Legal system: local island by-laws
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal with three years residency
Executive branch: chief of state:  Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by UK High Commissioner to New Zealand and Governor (nonresident) of the Pitcairn Islands Martin WILLIAMS (since NA May 1998); Commissioner (nonresident) Leon SALT (since NA; is the liaison person between the governor and the Island Council)

head of government:  Island Magistrate and Chairman of the Island Council Jay WARREN (since NA)

cabinet:  NA

elections:  the monarch is hereditary; high commissioner and commissioner appointed by the monarch; island magistrate elected every three years in December by popular vote for a three-year term; last election held NA December 1999 (next to be held NA December 2002)

election results:  Lea BROWN elected island magistrate; percent of vote - NA%
Legislative branch: unicameral Island Council (10 seats - 6 elected by popular vote, 1 appointed by the 6 elected members, 2 appointed by the governor, and 1 seat for the Island Secretary; members serve one-year terms)

elections:  take place each December; last held NA December 2000 (next to be held NA December 2001)

election results:  percent of vote - NA%; seats - all independents
Judicial branch: Island Court (island magistrate presides over the court and is elected every three years)
Political parties and leaders: none
Political pressure groups and leaders: none
International organization participation: SPC
Diplomatic representation in the US: none (overseas territory of the UK)
Diplomatic representation from the US: none (overseas territory of the UK)
Flag description: blue with the flag of the UK in the upper hoist-side quadrant and the Pitcairn Islander coat of arms centered on the outer half of the flag; the coat of arms is yellow, green, and light blue with a shield featuring a yellow anchor


Countryfacts Information Courtesy: CIA Worldbook

Make 1Up Travel your HomepageSend this Page to a FriendGo to Top of PagePrint this PageAdd 1Up Travel to your Favorites


Compare Country Info Hotel Directory Geography Flags World Maps Travel Warnings National Parks


Asia Africa Caribbean Middle East North America South America Central America Oceania Pacific Europe Polar Regions


Destinations Monuments Ancient Wonders Modern Wonders Natural Wonders


World Time ISD Codes Travel Links Link Exchange


Disclaimer: Although we've tried to make the information on this web site as accurate as possible, we accept no responsibility for any loss, injury or inconvenience sustained by any person resulting from information published on this site. We encourage you to verify any critical information with the relevant authorities before you travel.

Copyright 1Up Travel All Rights Reserved.
Go Up

Privacy Policy