It is one of the eight scenes of west Korea. It stands
near the Taedong Gate and Pyongyang Bell.
It was first built in the Koguryo Dynasty and was named
the Sansu Pavilion. And it was rebuilt in the Ri Dynasty
and was renamed the Ryongwang Pavilion meaning a pavilion
polished by sunlight and winds.
It is told that Kim Hwang Won, Koryo's famous poet cried
because he could not express the unique beauty of Pyongyang.
Another legend tells the tale of Kye Wol Hyang, a patriotic
kisaeng who killed a Japanese general to defend the Walled
City of Pyongyang in the period of Imjin Patriotic War(1592-1598).