The Alikartano estate, formerly called Frugård, was founded
in the early 1600s. In 1709 it was acquired by an ancestor
of the Nordenskiöld family. The manor is known as the childhood
home of the world-famous explorer Adolf Erik Nordenskiöld,
discoverer of the Northeast Passage.
The Finnish Government purchased Alikartano in 1964, partly
through a donation from the Nordenskiöld family. The manor
was opened as a museum in 1983. The manor grounds reflect
18th-century style. The present main building, with its
unusual two-storey drawing-room, dates from 1805. Some rooms
are furnished in the manner of the early 19th century.
One part of the exhibition is devoted to scientific interests
and achievements of the Nordenskiöld family. A small valley
nearby, with a brook and a walking path, beckons the visitor.