One of Finland's medieval royal castles, it is believed
to have been built at the end of the 13th century, following
Earl Birger of Sweden's crusade to Hδme (Tavastia).
During the Middle Ages the original fortified camp was
built into a residential castle for its commandant. In the
18th century a third storey was built and curtain wall buildings
were erected around the edifice. The red brick used by the
builders dominates the outward appearance.
The castle served as a prison from 1837 to 1972. As the
prison functions were gradually abandoned, research and
restoration work began under the state's supervision. The
work was completed in 1988.
The main castle is now presented as a historical monument.
The castle houses the "Terra Tavestorum" exhibition, which
relates the prehistory of Hδme. There are also temporary
exhibitions. In the castle, there is a restaurant available
by advance booking as well as a summer cafι and facilities
for hire for meetings and celebrations.