This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ecuador - Cantons and Municipalities

Last modified: 2002-12-20 by dov gutterman
Keywords: ecuador | subdivisions |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Cantons and Municipalities Represented in FOTW

Municipal Flags (?)

Do we know that any city other than Quito has its own flag?
Whitney Smith's meaning seemed to be that the civil form of the national flag was for any citizen to use, each province had its own flag that only the provincial government could use, and cities had no flags, only the Municipal Buildings flag to symbolize the authority of a city government. Quito, as the capital, may have been given a special privilege--or Smith may have been wrong, or the facts may have changed since then. So-- do we know that any city other than Quito has its own flag?
John Ayer, 10 October 1999

I spoke with some ecuatorians and it seems that some sort of districts (I assume that subdivisions of the provinces or perhaps municipalities formed by one town and several villages) have flags own. In fact they spoke about a large range of flags in Ecuador and some confusion arose between the people. Perhaps later the government decided simplify the situation.
Jaume Ollé, 12 October 1999