You are here >1uptravel > International > Asia > Mongolia



 At a Glance



  History & Culture








 Worth a Visit !!



  Maps & Cities


  Eating Out



  Travel Links

 Country Facts









  Transnational issues


  Mongolia Guide
  Mongolia Maps
  Mongolia Flag
  More Mongolia Flags
  Mongolia Geography
  Mongolia Travel Warning

Travel & Tourism . Tourist Guide to the Country

Mongolia Government

Mongolia    Government Top of Page
Country name: conventional long form:  none

conventional short form:  Mongolia

local long form:  none

local short form:  Mongol Uls

former:  Outer Mongolia
Government type: parliamentary
Capital: Ulaanbaatar
Administrative divisions: 18 provinces (aymguud, singular - aymag) and 3 municipalities* (hotuud, singular - hot); Arhangay, Bayanhongor, Bayan-Olgiy, Bulgan, Darhan*, Dornod, Dornogovi, Dundgovi, Dzavhan, Erdenet*, Govi-Altay, Hentiy, Hovd, Hovsgol, Omnogovi, Ovorhangay, Selenge, Suhbaatar, Tov, Ulaanbaatar*, Uvs

note:  there may be a new province named Gobi-Sumber; further, there may now be 21 provinces and 1 capital city instead of 18 provinces and 3 municipalities
Independence: 11 July 1921 (from China)
National holiday: Independence Day/Revolution Day, 11 July (1921)
Constitution: 12 February 1992
Legal system: blend of Russian, Chinese, Turkish, and Western systems of law that combines aspects of a parliamentary system with some aspects of a presidential system; constitution ambiguous on judicial review of legislative acts; has not accepted compulsory ICJ jurisdiction
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal
Executive branch: chief of state:  President Natsagiyn BAGABANDI (since 20 June 1997)

head of government:  Prime Minister Nambaryn ENKHBAYAR (since 26 July 2000)

cabinet:  Cabinet appointed by the State Great Hural in consultation with the president

elections:  president nominated by parties in the State Great Hural and elected by popular vote for a four-year term; election last held 20 May 2001 (next to be held NA May 2005); following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition is usually elected prime minister by the State Great Hural; election last held 2 July 2000 (next to be held NA 2004)

election results:  Natsagiyn BAGABANDI reelected president; percent of vote - NA%; Nambaryn ENKHBAYAR elected prime minister by a vote in the State Great Hural of 68 to 3
Legislative branch: unicameral State Great Hural (76 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms)

elections:  last held 2 July 2000 (next to be held NA July 2004)

election results:  percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - MPRP 72, other 4
Judicial branch: Supreme Court (serves as appeals court for people's and provincial courts, but rarely overturns verdicts of lower courts; judges are nominated by the General Council of Courts for approval by the president)
Political parties and leaders: Citizens' Will Party or CWP (also called Civil Will Party) [Sanjaasurengyn OYUN]; Democratic Party or DP [D. DORLIGAN]; Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party or MPRP [Nambaryn ENKHBAYAR]; Mongolian Democratic New Socialist Party or MDNSP [B. ERDENEBAT]; Mongolian Republican Party or MRP [B. JARGALSAIHAN]

note:  the MPRP is the ruling party
Political pressure groups and leaders: NA
International organization participation: ARF (dialogue partner), AsDB, ASEAN (observer), CCC, EBRD, ESCAP, FAO, G-77, IAEA, IBRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, ISO, ITU, NAM, OPCW, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, WToO, WTrO
Diplomatic representation in the US: chief of mission:  Ambassador Jalbuugiyn CHOINHOR

chancery:  2833 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20007

telephone:  [1] (202) 333-7117

FAX:  [1] (202) 298-9227

consulate(s) general:  New York
Diplomatic representation from the US: chief of mission:  Ambassador John DINGER

embassy:  inner north side of the Big Ring, just west of the Selbe Gol, Ulaanbaatar

mailing address:  United States Embassy in Mongolia, P. O. Box 1021, Ulaanbaatar 13; PSC 461, Box 300, FPO AP 96521-0002

telephone:  [976] (11) 329095

FAX:  [976] (11) 320776
Flag description: three equal, vertical bands of red (hoist side), blue, and red; centered on the hoist-side red band in yellow is the national emblem ("soyombo" - a columnar arrangement of abstract and geometric representation for fire, sun, moon, earth, water, and the yin-yang symbol)


Countryfacts Information Courtesy: CIA Worldbook

Make 1Up Travel your HomepageSend this Page to a FriendGo to Top of PagePrint this PageAdd 1Up Travel to your Favorites


Compare Country Info Hotel Directory Geography Flags World Maps Travel Warnings National Parks


Asia Africa Caribbean Middle East North America South America Central America Oceania Pacific Europe Polar Regions


Destinations Monuments Ancient Wonders Modern Wonders Natural Wonders


World Time ISD Codes Travel Links Link Exchange


Disclaimer: Although we've tried to make the information on this web site as accurate as possible, we accept no responsibility for any loss, injury or inconvenience sustained by any person resulting from information published on this site. We encourage you to verify any critical information with the relevant authorities before you travel.

Copyright 1Up Travel All Rights Reserved.
Go Up

Privacy Policy